Brotherhood of Jesus Crucified

Holy Monday | 20:30 h.

Five Christ stigmata

Pza. Mayor, Secretario Vázquez, Ignacio Martínez de Azcoitia, Mayor, Pza. León, Pza. S. Pablo, Sto. Domingo de Guzmán, Pza. Carmelitas, Sta. Teresa de Jesús, Pza. Inmaculada, Catedral, Jorge Manrique, Juan de Castilla, Barrio y Mier, Mayor, Ignacio Martínez de Azcoitia, Pza. S. Francisco.

[20:30] Penitential Dress Act. Main Square. [21:20] Prayer: 1st Stigmata. Penitential Church of St Agustín.[21:50] Prayer: 2nd Stigmata. St Pablo Square. [22:10] Prayer: 3rd Stigmata. Cathedral. [23:00] Prayer: 4th and 5th Stigmata. St Francisco Square.

Attention places
Penitential dress act & prayer of 'stigmata'.

The procession, whose ownership is held by the Brotherhood of Our Father Jesus Crucified and Our Sorrowful Mother, is celebrated on the evening of Holy Monday. Jesus Crucified, carving that is the absolute protagonist of the whole parade, leaves the atrium of St Francisco, over the sounds of Bugles&Drums Band called Holy Trinity and guarded by the members of the Local Police, to head towards the Main Square, where the beginning of the procession is located. Meanwhile, the representations of brothers of the rest of the Penitential Brotherhoods of the city have been approaching to participate in the procession. When the Christ arrives at the feet of the Town Hall, one of the most curious acts takes place for tourists, devotees and spectators in general: the Act of Dressing. Two brothers of each Brotherhood climb the steps of the City Hall and the different parts that make up the habit are placed: the tunic, the cord, the cap, the cape, the medal, ... while a priest explains the meaning of each one of them. After this simple explanatory act, and after a introductory prayer to the Exercise of the Five Wounds, the procession begins. Different stops are made in which the five stigmata of the body of Christ are meditated on. The first, in the church of St. Agustin, facing the Mother of Piety. The next two, in San Pablo Square, in the Chapel of Jesus Nazarene and in the Church of St. Pablo. The last two, and already back in St Francisco Square, facing the imposing carving of the Solitude Virgin the fourth, and facing the titular Virgin of the Brotherhood the fifth. On this Holy Monday, the image is carried on shoulders in a simple metallic band. The organizing Brotherhood invites the rest of the brothers to take the pace as a symbol of fraternity, although the crucial moments of the procession are reserved for their own brothers. The Christ, on the afternoon of Good Friday, procession along with the other titular image of the Brotherhood, Our Sorrowful Mother, in a float adorned with the emblem of the Brotherhood.


In its beginnings, the Brotherhood of Jesus Crucified and Our Sorrowful Mother already organized a procession in the afternoon of Holy Tuesday of ephemeral life but of deep impact. In addition, in the middle of the last century, on the afternoon of Holy Monday, the so-called procession of Silence was going through the streets, in which there were no confreres but as many people and congregations desired it. In 1998, coinciding with the declaration of Holy Week in Palencia as a Regional Tourist Interest Event, and after the reform of the statutes of this Brotherhood, which took place in the previous year, the titular procession of the Brotherhood, denominated PROCESSION OF THE FIVE STIGMATA. The devotion to the Five Wounds, which brings the central theme of this procession, has its origin in the twelfth and thirteenth centuries and was initiated by St. Francis of Assisi who, according to tradition, being in ecstasy received directly from the Crucified these stigmas in their own body. The rebirth of religious life and the fervent activity of Saint Bernard and Saint Francis, together with the enthusiasm of the Crusaders returning from the Holy Land, gave a wonderful impulse to the devotion to the Passion of Jesus Christ, particularly to the practices in honor of the Sores of His Sacred Hands, Feet and Side. The reason for this devotion was very well expressed in a later period in the memorial of the Polish Bishops to Pope Clement XIII: "Furthermore, the Five Wounds of Christ are honored with a Mass and an Office, and in consideration of these wounds we also venerate the feet, hands and side of such an adorable Redeemer. These parts of the Most Holy Body of Our Lord are considered as the most worthy of a particular cult precisely because they suffered special pains for our salvation and because they were decorated with these wounds as if they were an outstanding mark of love. Therefore, with a vivid faith, they can not be seen otherwise than with a special feeling of religion and devotion. " Many beautiful medieval prayers have been preserved in honor of the Sacred Wounds, including some attributed to Saint Clare of Assisi. Saint Mathilde and Saint Gertrudes de Helfta were devotees of the Holy Wounds, this last Saint recited daily a prayer in honor of the 5,466 wounds that, according to the medieval tradition, were inflicted on Jesus during his Passion. In the Fourteenth Century, in the south of Germany, it was customary to recite fifteen Our Father every day (which amounted to 5,475 during the course of a year) in memory of the Sacred Sores. According to the "Humiliavit" Mass of the Roman Missal, among the Medieval Masses there was a special Mass in honor of the Wounds of Christ that was believed to have been written by the Evangelist Saint John and revealed to Boniface II in the year 532. It was known as the Golden Mass and the Popes Innocent VI and John XXII 1334 granted him indulgences; during its celebration five candles were always lit. It was popularly held that if someone said it or listened to it for five consecutive days, it would never suffer from the pain caused by the fire of hell. The Dominican Rosary also helped promote devotion to the Sacred Wounds because if the fifty small beads refer to Mary, the five large beads with their corresponding Father Ours intend to honor the Five Wounds of Christ. Moreover, in some places it was customary to ring a bell every Friday at noon to remind the faithful to pray five Our Fathers and Hail Marys in honor of the Holy Wounds. On August 11, 1823 the Holy See approved a crown or rosary of the Five Wounds, renewing it in 1851. It consists of five parts, each composed of five Glories in honor of the Wounds of Christ and a Hail Mary in commemoration of the Mother of Pain.

While I am holding my cord I will contemplate, today, with respect, your wounds. Five stigmata. Five silent prayers that cry out for our sins. Five Stigmata.


Our Father Jesus Crucified